some more Balinese macro video on the Lumix LX10

Here's a small macro clip where I tried working with slightly different subjects and angles, sometimes a little more abstract.

Shot in Amed, east Bali, in 4K 30fps, CineD profile, edited/graded in FCPX

Equipment used:
- Panasonic Lumix LX10 (LX9/LX15 in some locales) compact camera  in a NALX10 Nauticam housing, AOI UCL-09 +18.5 diopter, Inon UCL-165M67 +6 diopter and Nauticam CMC-1 (the skeleton shrimp clip if I remember - I just got this lens and will be working with it in the coming weeks)
- Backscatter MW 4300 video light and two Archon D11V2 video lights
- Homemade quadripod

cheers
ben

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

• 3 months later...
Posted (edited)

Absolutely amazing! I'm still dreaming reaching this level with my LX 10 as well this really inspires the whole macro video capabilities of this camera.

Wow!

A complete macro noob here - are you just stacking the diopters or changing lenses during the dive?

Matan.

Edited by Matan

Thanks a bunch Matan!

Yes, despite a limited focal range (compared to newer RX100vii with it's massive 200mm zoom lens), macro capacities are really good on the LX10 - with a good set of diopters, that is.

It's a fixed lens on the LX10 so i'm just adding diopters based on the shot - I have a +6 Inon UCL165, an AOI-09 +12.5, and at the time I shot this clip I was still using an +10 diopter made for GoPro (Backscatter's macro mate mini).

I've sold this since and managed to buy a second-hand Nauticam CMC-1, which is roughly a +15 diopter, so quite close to the AOI +12.5.

Conditions here in east Bali have been bad the past couple of months with rainy season, so I haven't been shooting as much as before - but it's clearing up now, even though subject wise it's still not back to what it was, so I'll be working with the new lens.