Hello from Greece

Hello all and nice to meet you!

I'm very happy to be here. My name is Orestis and I'm a marine ecologist/biologist phd candidate from Greece.

I am really new to the world of underwater photography, which I intend to participate in both recreationally and professionally, with my new camera (canon r6 mII).

I will be back soon with tons of questions about pretty much everything...

Cheers,

Orestis

• Like 3

16 hours ago, TimG said:

Hi Orestis. Welcome to Waterpixels. Great to have you with us. I’m sure you’ll get lots of help when you’re ready with your questions. 

Thanks a lot Tim!

Here, I would like to add some more information about my underwater photography background and equipment, so that I can use this thread as a reference for other threads I will be participating in.

UW photography background

Although I have been in the sea for pretty much all my life and the past 15+ years I have been studying and working in the fields of marine biology/ecology with scientific diving, apart from action cameras and other basic gear (sony rx100iii with single sea&sea ys-D2 strobe), I have zero experience yet in more advanced UW photography gear and techniques.

I only recently decided to take the next step and delve more deeply into UW photography and as I mentioned in my earlier post, I intend to use it for both recreational and professional (scientific diving) purposes.

The good news is, that when I love something, I get fully into it and I do learn fast.

Personal  equipment:

Camera: Canon eos R6 mark II 

Lens: rf 24-105mm f/4L is usm (more to come soon)

Housing: Ikelite 200DL

Strobes: 2x Ikelite DS232 with TTL converter and diffusers

Lab's equipment:

Cameras: Sony RX100III, Sony RX100VII

Housings: Ikelite

Strobes: 2x Ikelite DS160II, x1 Sea&Sea YS-D2, with fiber optic cords 

cheers,

Orestis

Edited by Orestis Papadakis
  • Like 1

18 minutes ago, TimG said:

Hey Orestis