Tamron 17-50mm f/4.0 FE for UW use?

This lens is available for many weeks and I am curious, whether someone is using/testing this lens for Sony FF cameras. Would be interested to know how this lens performs generally UW and which dome size is required to get decent results...

My background is that I have Sony A7R5 and use both Sony 20-70mm and Tamron 17-28mm behind Zen DP170. Both lenses perform very well behind this dome, but the zoom range of the Tamron 17-28mm is limited and 17-50mm would be much better with respect to zoom range...

Wolfgang

Edited by Architeuthis

I already own the 17-50mm along with the other lenses you have listed above. I intend to use the lens with the Marelux 180mm dome port but have not yet worked out the extension length. With the 17-28mm I use 60mm extension and I suspect I will need about 15mm more for the 17-50mm. I also shoot the excellent Sigma 17mm F/4 with the Marelux 180mm port and 20mm extension. I will post results when I am able to do a full test of ports and extensions. Shooting with Sony A1 and A7R V.

• Thanks 1

On 12/15/2023 at 10:50 AM, Architeuthis said:

This lens is available for many weeks and I am curious, whether someone is using/testing this lens for Sony FF cameras. Would be interested to know how this lens performs generally UW and which dome size is required to get decent results...

My background is that I have Sony A7R5 and use both Sony 20-70mm and Tamron 17-28mm behind Zen DP170. Both lenses perform very well behind this dome, but the zoom range of the Tamron 17-28mm is limited and 17-50mm would be much better with respect to zoom range...

Wolfgang

17mm won't require more than 180mm Nauticam dome. How it will work depends on the lens construction. I have not examined this one as I now have the 16-35 GM2

• 2 weeks later...

The Tamron 17-50mm does appear softer in the corners by optical limits and others standards v. the Tamron 17-28mm and it is also an F/4 v. F/2.8.