Beginner Questions - New Gear / Wide-Angle Lens

Hello everyone!

It's still a good 3 months until my first dive in the sea and although I believed I was well-equipped with the current setup, thoughts linger daily as to whether I might be missing a wide-angle lens or dome port to truly enhance my underwater photography experience. My main focus is to photograph while freediving. 

However, my inner procrastinator promptly reminds me that, in terms of underwater photography, I am a complete novice and should perhaps initially focus on what I already have. On the other hand, one wouldn't want to miss out on anything.

I know that no one can make the decision for me, and I wouldn't want that either. However, I would love to hear the opinions of those who have some experience in the field :).

Specifically, I'm considering:

Budget option: "Seafrog 4" wide-angle wet correction dome port lens (67mm round adapter)"

Going all-in: "WeeFine WFL-02 24mm 0.47X Super Wide Angle Converter" (+ 52/67 Adapter)

(I couldn't find any post wether I'm allowed posting links or not, therefore I kept em out 🙂 )

edit:

Sony RX100 va

Inon S220

Fantasea FRX 100 S

Thank you very much!

Edited by Apneagraph
Feedback

The Seafrogs lens only gets you back to the land view for the RX100 lens, which in underwater terms is not that wide.  The weefine lens if you look at their webpage is designed for a small sensor camera like a TG6, so may not work so well on the 1"sensor of the RX100.  This page may be helpful with a lot of sample shots taken with wet lenses.

https://www.housingcamera.com/blog/product-reviews/the-ultimate-wet-lens-sample-post

It mentions cameras used and the settings can be found in the EXIF data of the images.

Before you decide if you need a wide lens perhaps you'd like to think about what you are planning to photograph and where you are planning to dive.  Some sites you may be better using a macro close up lens.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Davide DB said: