SLR to Mirrorless - Macro or WA first?

So I recently made the switch from shooting Nikon DX SLR cameras for years, to Sony Full Frame Mirrorless. I've been playing with just the camera for a few months and about ready to get the first UW housing setup. There's many reason why I made the switch including the desire to review in viewfinder, and more reliance on the auto-focus system as my eyesight changes with age. 

Because of the many variables in this change - DX sensor to Full Frame, SLR to Mirrorless, Nikon to Sony, TTL strobes to Manual - I'm wondering if my initial setup should be Macro or Wide Angle. Leaning more to Macro first because is more compact and where I live (Pacific Northwest) there's more opportunities for Macro photography than WA. But I'd like to hear others opinions:

Have you gone through a similar switch?

Anything I should consider in my decision and next steps?

Definitely want to purchase one setup first, get comfortable with it, then add the next setup.

Thanks!!

• Like 2

Hi scuba_jc

Congrats on the new gear. Nice! I'm still a Nikon DX shooter but I hope the following may be a bit of help:

I'd suggest only you can decide whether you should go with macro or wide-angle to start with. You know what types of subject you are likely to see on your dives and what you enjoy photographing. Hard to say which is "easier" to start with. As far as compact size goes, maybe macro is a little more compact if you are going to use a large domeport for wide-angle (see below). More generally, I always reckon that there are more opportunities to shoot macro as you don't need reasonable viz.

A couple of other thoughts: