Marelux housing experiences?

jlaity

I’m considering a Marelux housing for Canon R5 but I’m finding very little online as far as reviews. Does anyone gave experience with these, especially coming from Nauticam? The housing design seems to be inspired by Nauticam, putting it kindly. 

How difficult is it to adapt Nauti ports to work with the 20mm extension/adaptor? Do the Nauti viewfinders work? How is the optical strobe trigger? 

Thanks. 

Hi there!

Before you read on: Full disclosure - I am a Marelux Senior Ambassador.

I have a Marelux housing with the Canon R5 but did not come from Nauticam, rather from Isotta. 

The Nauticam viewfinder is not compatible (I was using the Nauti with my Isotta housing), so I had to get a Marelux viewfinder.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask me. I will happily give you unbiased feedback at all times 😄

Kate

• Like 2

I have been shooting an R5 in a Marelux housing since May 2022. 

I owned 3 Nauticam housings before that (RX100 IV, Olympus OM-D EM1 II, Sony A7C)

The strobe trigger works well.  I ran with that trigger for nearly 2 years, then switched to UW Technics for HSS.

I heard back from Marelux sales department that Nauticam (and Inon, etc?) eyepieces are not supported. Also Nauticam ports are supported with a 20mm extension, but that makes it incompatible with a fisheye lens. Since I would need to replace 3k+ of glass, I guess I’ll keep saving and searching. 

18 minutes ago, jlaity said:

I heard back from Marelux sales department that Nauticam (and Inon, etc?) eyepieces are not supported. Also Nauticam ports are supported with a 20mm extension, but that makes it incompatible with a fisheye lens. Since I would need to replace 3k+ of glass, I guess I’ll keep saving and searching.