2nd Strobe - but which one?

Hey guys,

I‘m actually using a single strobe setup and are looking for a 2nd strobe to complete my setup. 

Actually I use 1x Inon S220 together with my RX100 va. 

Now I‘m pending wether I go for a second S220 or getting a used Z330, budget wise both options are kinda similar, may the S220 is slightly cheaper (but therefore new). 

My focus is still at WA, therefore I thought getting a more powerfull 2nd strobe could be worth, but I have no experience if it works via STTL and looks harmonic in the end. 

Also I‘m unsure if the more in power is worth the weight I have to carry around while travelling nor if it makes a hudge difference by using it while freediving. 

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Apneagraph said:

Now I‘m pending wether I go for a second S220 or getting a used Z330, budget wise both options are kinda similar, may the S220 is slightly cheaper (but therefore new). 

Hi @Apneagraph,

That’s a good question.  The S220 has proven to be a quite dependable upgrade from the previous S2000.  The beam is noticeably wider which I see as a big plus.  I see two ways to look at it….

- Adding a Z-330 will provide a bit wider light pattern and a bit more power.  (More so the wider pattern)  This could be interesting if you use the 2 strobes as a key light and fill light strategy. This yields a more artistic appearance.  

- Adding a 2nd S220 would still allow the key light/fill light strategy, but would also provide a more even, matched lighting for wider scenes.  The smaller size is an attractive plus.  Saving a few dollars for a new product vs. pre-owned is nice as well.

There will be a variety of opinions shared, but I personally prefer having the option of an even light pattern.  As such, I personally would purchase a 2nd S220.  

Good luck!  Let us know what you decide.

chip

• Like 3